Voya – helping us start the day over.

23 Nov

You know how sometimes changing your outfit can make you feel better. There’s nothing like a pink tulle skirt to lift my spirits. Or my wanna-be cashmere jumper with the red heart. Or a pair of shoes so gloriously high they almost tilt me over the edge I’m already teetering on.

In the same way the perfect yin to the yang of a bad day (and today was one of those days) is to shed my skin, or at least the top layer. It almost feels like starting over. Washing away the day. Hence, I’m a big fan of exfoliators.

For my face I have long favoured chemical exfoliators (such as skin brighteners containing salicylic acid), and for my body I’ve use various physical exfoliators (including exfoliating gloves, towels and scrubs). These products help shed old dead cells leaving skin dewy and smooth. Or at least that’s the idea.

However, of late, I’ve found the physical exfoliator I was using left my skin dry, so I’d reduced how often I used it and ultimately tried a new brand – Voya Body Buff (Time to Shine). I wasn’t familiar with this brand but I liked the fact that the ingredients were organic – made from hand-harvested seaweed.

The scent is certainly natural, almost sea-like but very light, and the consistency is creamy with moderate grains.

When I first lathered it on my skin I thought it was fairly similar to other exfoliators I’d used so my expectations weren’t particularly high. But after I showered and dried I noticed something which made me very happy. My skin was silk to touch without even the slightest hint of dryness. In fact I was so impressed I also used this body product on my face which yielded similar results. I’m looking forward to trying products from the rest of their range.

Price: €10

For full range see: www.voya.ie

11 Responses to “Voya – helping us start the day over.”

  1. audrey Simmons November 23, 2010 at 4:32 pm #

    Is this stocked in any stores in Cork?

  2. Darina November 26, 2010 at 12:31 pm #

    Hi, great post btw, have been following and enjoying your blog, BUT on a totally other note do you mind me asking you where you got your heart jumper, so cute. Reply by personal mail if you don’t want to post here. THANKYOU!

  3. Aine Ryan November 26, 2010 at 2:11 pm #

    Sounds fab! So much to buy, such little money…

  4. Lola November 26, 2010 at 2:17 pm #

    I used this range when I visited a Spa in Sligo, have to admit that I wasn’t gone on the smell but it really really worked a treat. I will add it to my Christmas list.

  5. Beauty Boffin November 26, 2010 at 2:21 pm #

    I wasn’t gone on the smell either, but I didn’t care when I realised it worked!

  6. Debs January 3, 2011 at 10:31 pm #

    MMMmmm sound nice… love your posts, they never fail to make me smile. Am also reading your blog/column and love it. x

  7. Olivia January 4, 2011 at 7:39 pm #

    I thought of this post after a not so great first day back at work after the xmas hols and it really was brilliant, just like you said, washing off the day. Love it. Have you tried anything else from this range? Olivia P. x

  8. Audrey January 5, 2011 at 12:31 pm #

    Great post 🙂 love your writing so much, it brightens my day and have reposted to my FB

  9. Amy February 15, 2011 at 9:23 pm #

    I’m feelin’ it too.

  10. Rachel Freeman February 18, 2011 at 11:43 am #

    I’m in the beauty boffin fan club! Have signed up for your feed and looking forward to your mails, though wish there were more regular posts, like everyday maybe?? Some time to read on my coffee break.

Leave a Reply

