The Ugly Truth Vibram FiveFingers Workout Shoes

3 Jan

When it comes to working out, you’ll endure all sorts of humiliation to reach your goals. (See: pole dancing on a Power Plate.)

Confidence, meet your match. Vibram FiveFingers, new fitness shoes with space for each toe (like gloves for the feet), are about as sexy as tractor tyres.

Engineered for running, walking and yoga, the shoes act like a second skin, with thin, flexible rubber soles that grip any surface. They’re lined with stretch polymade fabric and require no socks.

The benefits are similar to reflexology: they stimulate acupressure points (aiding ailments like fatigue, poor digestion and muscle tension), strengthen muscles and improve balance, agility and posture.

What’s more, they help you run faster. Minimizing the time you can be spotted wearing them.

Available from www.amazon.co.uk

Daily Candy.

16 Responses to “The Ugly Truth Vibram FiveFingers Workout Shoes”

  1. Debs January 3, 2011 at 10:28 pm #

    OMG! These things sound fecking brilliant but they’re all sold out in the small sizes on amazon, is there anywhere in Cork that stocks them? Or even Dublin?

  2. Saz January 3, 2011 at 10:33 pm #

    ugly as hell but I still want a pair. This is the first I’ve heard of them and why I keep coming back to your blog cause you’re always the first with new stuff. Please update list of stockists if you have them. Ta. x

  3. Beauty Boffin January 3, 2011 at 10:50 pm #

    Try the running shop in Cork, if they don’t have them I’m sure they could order them, otherwise have a look at http://www.cotswoldoutdoor.com and http://www.nakedape.uk.com. To see styles go to http://www.vibramfivefingers.it.

  4. Sandra Wayman January 4, 2011 at 12:17 am #

    Damn, I wish I’d known about these pre xmas, would have loved them…. though I guess I might find them cheaper now in the sale (any tips??), they’re quite expensive at almost 100euros! But I guess worth it. I always hate skidding around doing yoga and these look light enough for that. Thanks for tip off BB!

  5. Amanda January 4, 2011 at 2:40 pm #

    I have them. I love them, and yes they are ugly. But they have made my form better, my feet stronger and my calves killer! Wish I had invented them.

    • Beauty Boffin January 4, 2011 at 4:45 pm #

      Thx for the post Amanda, glad to hear they work so well. They’re certainly on my wishlist. I bet who ever invented them is quite happy too!

  6. Daniel McNamara January 4, 2011 at 4:40 pm #

    I don’t think they’re ugly at all! I love them. Can’t wait to get a pair. I hope they come in pink!! Love your blog btw.

  7. Beauty Boffin January 4, 2011 at 4:47 pm #

    Thanks for stopping by Daniel, enjoying yours site/blog too.

  8. Tara Ryan January 4, 2011 at 7:31 pm #

    If you’re not meant to wear socks with them wouldn’t they get really smelly! Like the idea of them if you can machine wash them?

  9. Olivia January 4, 2011 at 7:42 pm #

    I thought these were a joke but they’re actually real. Would they really give enough support when running?

  10. Aish January 5, 2011 at 12:01 pm #

    Would like to try these on before I buy them. Does anyone know what physical shops are selling them in Ireland?? Thanks.

  11. Mia January 7, 2011 at 12:10 am #

    Check out their site there’s load of info there. Thank for posting this! They’re exactly what I’ve been looking for, though I didn’t realize they existed.

  12. Nora January 7, 2011 at 3:08 pm #

    I have been using them for quite a while and I can testify that I experienced a reduction of my leg pains (Achilles and Knee)… Would recommend them, not a gimmick.

  13. Amy February 15, 2011 at 9:21 pm #

    WANT THEM! Brill or what!

  14. Julie Philips February 18, 2011 at 11:39 am #

    Ah *HELLO!* people. Am I the only one who thinks these things look ridiculous, but I guess like Uggs, sometimes ugly means comfy.

  15. Tracy April 9, 2011 at 7:29 pm #

    Want!

Leave a Reply

